top of page

By all means, Please. Lie to me!

inspirational image time as tradition dictates

here, one based on the reading

now a few just because

The Reading... Chris really picked a doozy here. It's so him honestly. The way we interpret the truth and the influences our environment have on how we perceive our own idea of the "truth", is a heavy topic. How culture and the other outlets we interact with everyday shape our own personal conventions of what the truth is...or rather we believe them to be our personal interpretations of the truth as we know it.

Honestly, questioning what we are expected to be influenced by and obtaining our own personal idea of what is true to us is what makes living where we do so important. The truth as we discussed in our class is pretty subjective and is created from those influences within society that we interact with. Discussing Santa Claus in class was a bit goofy. Honestly a commercial figure that entices people to go out and spend more than they really need to for the holidays simply because their own children have an unrealistic expectation in a mythical being whom only exists to spread gifts to good little boys and girls. I personally think that it's harmless fun so long as it's the parents who create the idea of santa claus for their children to be influenced by. Setting guidelines and rules and a lore all familiar to what is already established.

However I can see why people would be put off from lying to their children, for fun or not. I myself grew up in a household where santa claus wasn't even a thing. I remember my brother and I would go to school and hear about st. nick and get excited. Excited enough to ask our Mom if we should write letters to Santa Claus too. She replied with a sudden "Who told you about Santa? He's not real! Your father works Too hard for you to believe in that!" Basically santa was dead and she killed him. But it stuck with me to this day. Do I feel cheated? Not really, no. Infact, I'm happy to know that my dad wanted us to believe in santa. He had his costume on and everything to trick us, but our mother debunked it before he had the chance to really get to utilize the whimsy of the holidays. Either way, we're a religious family, so it wasn't important.

Thinking more about the idea of what is important to me and what I believe in and choose to believe as truth, I came to the realization that I am actually quite a shallow person. I don't think about those things and accept what I am told all to willingly. I have this weird quirk where I believe that everything anyone tells me ever is the truth until they give me a reason not to trust their word. I am extremely gullible and way to trusting for my own good....it's gotten me into tons of trouble- And DEBT! Lots and lots of debt. But that's a story for another time.

I'm so complacent when it comes to my beliefs about the important things in life. It's hard to really figure out how and why I just go with the flow too often. Someone told me it's how I cope with reality and the disappointments in life, but I think it's because I'm too lazy to want to think past the surface of big things. Sweat the small stuff because the big stuff is usually out of our hands, is something I'd often say, but that's just idiot talk! Ignore me.

Anywho~

My work for this week, I decided to create a narrative about adventure and discovery.

Set in a sort of midevilesque period, featuring a group of individuals who come together to overcome adversities and other challenges the world presents to them. Ragtag and a bit odd, none of the members are "human".

This week it's the conceptual stuff being presented like Characters and some sample environments

Whether or not I go further with the concept is in the air currently.

Sir Dunkle The Small:

The leader of the Party

He's a giant who happens to be the runt of the family.

Charismatic and cheerful, he gets the group into more trouble than he's worth.

Yet and still they follow him through hell or high water.

Civil the Curse Caster:

The level headed big sister of the group.

Always ready to smack Dunkle back in line when he gets too obnoxious.

A little bit too serious but she's not against having fun.

Gobbert just Gobbert:

A misunderstood ex-minion who doesn't particularly enjoy the fact that he is associated with

the societal stigma that comes with being a goblin. Usually adventure fodder and verminous villains, he's

not like that and aides the Dunkle party as a skilled veteran of trap disarmament and dungeoneering.

Easily the most serious member with a lot on his plate, he does come off as a grumpy gus, but behind that sour face

is a heart of gold.

Wick the Quick:

This little halfling is a fast footed rogue who used to be a thief out of necessity.

Skilled at picking pockets, but reluctant to do so, he looks up (literally and figuratively) to Dunkle.

Being short doesn't mean he has a complex about it.

He's a shy child with an easy going personality.

The youngling is always willing to lend a hand to those in need,

though his size does limit his ability, he relies on his friends to do what he can't.

Concepts of environments in their world, extending from forests to deserts, mountainous crags and frozen wastelands

frozen wasteland

mountainous crag

forest

So far I hope to finish something for once, though i'm not sure if this is the right project for this course. Honestly I don't know what kind of work is and isn't allowed in the context of this class but I'll keep creating things regardless.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page