top of page

Narnia and Ramen, anyone?

first off I guess some inspiration images to start, so that things are consistent, should alright.

Too much narnia? I think so too. I find it refreshing to read these stories again honestly. SO DONT JUDGE ME.

I haven't read this series in a while so when Olivia had us read this at first I was all "EW"

but after reading through the to the meeting with King Peter I just started having nostalgia trips down memory lane when my sister

purchased the series for me for my 16th birthday. I didn't enjoy reading much and had only ever bothered reading John Steinbeck's of mice and men, so reading a tale about a portal to a winter wonderland hidden within the confines of a bunch of kids closet just rubbed me the wrong way at first.The story was "okay" for me at the time but I didn't really "enjoy" it too much. It was actually the what if and dumb arguments between my siblings and myself over stupid scenarios and "shipping" mr tumnus with the Queen in a comedic fashion... no wait... never mind. Forget everything I stated. This never leaves the confines of this blog...

Stepping away from unicorns and the jesus allegory lion, It's weekly project time.

First word Ramen. Second Word....Week. Ramen Week.

Contrary to popular belief I am ...frugal.. I pinch pennies as often as I can, especially when it comes to dietary needs. I don't even have a food budget but I decided to use the idea of the "college student diet" with last weeks collection of water and a ramen noodle box as inspiration to create this... documentation-esque collage. While I should have created a log for ingredients and preparation techniques I made everything involving the soup base and stock from "scratch". Not a big fan of msg so I never use the seasoning package. So I ate one meal of ramen everyday in different ways. I enjoy cooking for myself and siblings so I decided to go this route with this weeks endeavor. The final product is a bit off putting, just a bunch of ramen, right? While the explanation of the process helps make it less of a shallow experience and more of an informative piece on my own personal circumstances, I am not a huge fan of contemporary art...yet here i am doing just that... Honestly, getting out of my comfort zone is my goal here. Next week I'll be touching serveral different options along with a continuation on an improved style of art making similar to this but there's no telling what route I'll decide to go for some of them.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page